A Book of Thanks & Gratitude

Soon after my little one was conceived, it became apparent that my love and care would not be enough to bring her safely into this world. My health issues were a mine for a thousand different complications that could all lead to death, disability and early and late miscarriage. I will not go into what it feels like to realise that one’s own health can lead to their unborn child’s demise. I’ve found no words to describe that level of despair and not for lack of trying.

What I will say is that since the tender embryonic age of 5 weeks, at a size barely bigger than a poppyseed, my child was blessed to come into contact with countless doctors, nurses, ultrasound technicians, midwives, consultants, old and new family friends who all helped ensure she and I would get the best possible chance at health and at a normal life.

Lately I’ve found myself in tears more and more thinking of those people.  The countless acts of kindness they’ve performed these past few months have left me emotionally bare and filled with more love and wonder I know what to do with… So I thought it might be an idea to try and compile a small book of thanks and gratitude, filled with pictures of everyone who helped and a small explanation of their role in this journey. And maybe, if this little project is successful, I could sell the books for charity. Or maybe I’ll find another way to give back even a shred of the kindness I’ve been shown…

Have you ever embarked on a similar project? What do you think about the idea?

Zoe

Tags: , , , , ,

About icedcoffeecreature

Hi there! I’m Zoe; a (mostly!) green foodie, soon-to-be mother of one and the proud “owner” of a slightly wonky immune system! If you happen upon my page, please say hello!

4 responses to “A Book of Thanks & Gratitude”

  1. Liesl says :

    I think it’s a great idea. Wishing you lots of strength.

  2. llallred says :

    A great idea! I think you will find that this project will end up helping you more than anyone else. I hope you understand that my heart understands your heart. Anytime you need a listening ear I am available. I know you’ve been following my story on my blog and although I’m only at the point of my first successful pregnancy (full of it’s own problems), my second pregnancy was life threatening for both of us and there were lots of unsure moments. Good news (and story spoiler) we both made it and are doing great. Trust in whatever God or Universe you draw strength from and hang on for all it’s worth. Hugs!

  3. icedcoffeecreature says :

    Thank you for your very kind words and encouragement! I have been following your story indeed. I’m so glad to hear your second pregnancy had a successful, happy ending for you and your little one!! Trust and hanging on; tricky concepts sometimes, though perhaps it could be argued that they’re supposed to be, but I am trying! 🙂

Leave a Reply

